A place where you need to follow for what's happening in Asante Kotoko SC
- Advertisement -

Nana Prah Agyensaim VI – Guest of Honour at 47th SWAG Awards Night

- Advertisement -

The Paramount Chief of Assin Kushea, Nana Prah Agyensaim VI, has been chosen as the guest of honour for the upcoming 47th Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards Night which comes off on January 28, 2023, at the Accra International Conference Center.

Amateur boxer Abraham Mensah, sprinter Joseph Paul Amoah and Ajax Amsterdam / Black Stars midfielder Kudus are the three candidates contesting for the 2022 SWAG Sports Personality of the year.

Popular sportsmen Benjamin Azamati, Mohammed Kudus, and Arsenal star Thomas Partey are all in contention for top awards.

Hearts of Oak striker Daniel Afriyie Barnieh, ex-AshantiGold forward Yaw Annor and Asante Kotoko goalkeeper Danlad Ibrahim are in contention for the local-based Footballer Award of the Year Award.

26-year-old medical practitioner Dr Kwabena Adu Poku has been named the 2022 Chess Player of the Year while Kelvin Alphous would be crowned the Badminton Player of the Year for the second year running.

The Athlete of the Year award will be decided between Benjamin Azamati and Joseph Paul Amoah.

In the female category, Tripler jumper Abigail Kwarteng and USA-based Deborah Acquah along with high jumper Rose Yeboah are all in gunning for the big award. Kwarteng (triple jumper) and Acquah (long jumper) who both competed at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, UK are in pole positions for the accolade. But, home-based Rose Yeboah boasts of a rich voting constituency that has been left impressed with her delivery.

Police Officer Grace Mintah has been nominated for the Female Armwrestler of the Year Award.

Leading Ghanaian mining firms Adamus Resources Limited and MTN Ghana are the major sponsors of the 47th Awards Night.

Afropop and Afrobeat female singer Wendy Shay, budding comedian O.B. Amponsah, gospel artiste Perpetual Didier, and young singer Ashley Chuks are going to perform at the event.

Top high-performing sporting personalities are expected to be in attendance at the 47th SWAG Awards.

Full List Below:

Personality of the Year –

Joseph Paul Amoah – Athletics
Mohammed Kudus – Football
Abraham Mensah – Amateur Boxing
Armwrestler of the Year

Grace Mintah – Female
Athlete of the Year (Female)

Abigail Kwarteng – Triple Jumper
Deborah Acquah – Long Jumper
Rose Yeboah Amoanimaah – High Jumper
Athlete of the Year (Male)

Joseph Paul Amoah – 200Mts
Benjamin Kwaku Azamati – 100Mts
Badminton Player of the Year

Alphous Kelvin
Boxer of the Year (Amateur)

Abraham Mensah
Joseph Commey
Chess Player of the Year

Dr Kwabena Adu Poku
Club of the Year

Ampem Darkoa Ladies FC
Coach of the Year

Ofori Asare – Amateur Boxing
Husseini Akueteh Addy – Armwrestling
Prosper Nartey Ogum – Asante Kotoko
Nana Darkwa – Ampem Darkoa
Cricketer of the Year

Samson Awiah Aweh
Cyclist of the Year

K-Balm (1000×334)

Anthony Boafo Boakye Dankwa
Discovery of the Year

Joseph Commey
Raphael Nii Ankrah
Dedication and Valour

Lepowura Mohammed Nurudeen Jawula
Footballer of the Year (Male)

Andre Dede Ayew
Mohammed Kudus
Thomas Partey
Footballer of the Year (Female)

Blessing Shine Agomashie (ASFAR, Morocco)
Ophelia Serwaa Amponsah (Ampem Darkoa)
Doris Boaduwaa (Hasaacas Ladies, Ghana)
Footballer of the Player (Home Based)

Daniel Afriyie Barnieh – Hearts of Oak
Yaw Annor – Ashantigold
Ibrahim Danlad – Asante Kotoko
Hockey Player of the Year (Female)

Adizatu Sulemana (GRA Ladies)
Lifetime Achievement Award

Awuley Quaye and Nii Dodoo Ankrah
Para-Athlete of the Year

Patricia Nyamekye
Professional Golfer of the Year

Kojo Barnii (Damang Golf Club)
Table Tennis Most Exciting Player

Israel Akili
Tennis Player of the Year

Samuel Osei Agbesi Antwi
Volleyball Player of the Year

Rashaka Katadat (Ghana Army)

SWAG TOP 5 Federations

Ghana Athletics Association
Ghana Armwrestling Federation
Ghana Amateur Boxing Federation
Ghana Boxing Authority
Ghana Football Association
Ghana Cycling Federation
Ghana Tennis Association
Swimmer of the Year

Abeiku Gyekye Jackson
Special and Meritorious Awards

Kingsley Owusu Achiaw – Bechem United
Reks Brobbey (Ghana’s Fastest Human Inventor)
Christine Ashley, Vice President – Ghana Chess Federation
Ashford Tettey Oku – Football

Danny List – Professional Golfer
Tom Vemon – Right to Dream Academy
Rustum Gameli Senorgbe

Corporate Awards

Max TV
One On One Foundation / Dreamland Sports Plus
Captain One Golf Society
Tennis Foundation
SWAG President’s Award

To be determined
SWAG Journalist of the Year

To be determined

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!